Scrimping and Saving

 

 

I have had to start worrying about my money lately.  A couple of years ago I had a very well paid job that led to me living in a very expensive area with very high rent and spending a lot of money.  The problem was that my employer found the effect of paying out so much in wages was that he started to run out of money himself and my workplace closed down.  This left me in a similar position to my employer in that I started running out of money as well.  It was a little over a year ago that I found myself fairly penniless.  Luckily I managed to get a new job which may have been paying a lot less but was a job in which I could learn to organise myself.

 

During the last year I have been designing lessons in law most of the time and also doing some English teaching.  For the last few months they have had me working on a course of business skills.  It occurred to me that I am using a lot of brain power every day but I have not actually put all that much effort into escaping my financially disadvantaged situation.  This week I determined that I should put some more effort into trying to pull my finances together.  Luckily for me this is actually a lot easier than one would think.  It merely takes the effort of forming a plan and then following it through.

 

The first thing that I have had to do is take a look at the credit cards.  The banks kind of prompted me into this by offering me some interest free balance transfers.  The first bank to do so was Lloyds TSB.  They were willing to give me a substantial amount of Avios which unfortunately I could not get because I did not have enough space on my card to transfer the requisite amount of cash.  I ended up transferring as much as I could into interest free land.  Naturally there was a charge for this but luckily the charge is less than half what I will be saving by not having to pay interest for the next 6 months.  Shortly after taking this money off the more expensive card to put it into an interest free space the card from which I had removed the money offered me an interest free balance transfer as well.  I was unsure about this at first.  I wondered whether I would be transferring my already interest free money into an interest free account and paying the charge for nothing.  I found out that a new rule was introduced last year whereby a bank must always pay off the money that is attracting the highest interest rate in an account first.  So it seems that I would still have my interest free amount.

 

So I transferred an amount more than twice as large as my original transfer back into the account that I had just gone to so much trouble to remove debt from.  I may have paid quite a lot of money to do this shuffling but just like that I could look into the future of next year to see that I would have a couple of hundred pounds more in that time than I would have had if I had not made this effort.

 

Now I was started I realised that I should try and keep this momentum up.  What else could I save money on.  I checked my bank account and discovered that I was still paying insurance for the flat I moved out of over half a year ago.  I quickly put a stop to that.  I also discovered that my mobile broadband company was charging me not only for the contract I was currently using but also for the contract that I used to have before this one.  I have sent them an email and demanded that they stop doing so.   This got me to thinking that maybe I can save even more on mobile broadband.  At present my bill comes to over £30.  I realised I can combine them both into one with the 3 one plan which comes in about £7 – £8 cheaper.  Not only that but I could also get further discounts on that.  I went to a site:  http://www.topcashback.co.uk/ref/harrymonmouth .  At top cash back it is possible to get £100 cash back when you take out a contract with three.  So not only can I save money by taking out a new contract but I can also get paid to save money, thereby saving even more money.  The reason I have posted the link here is that as a member they will actually pay me to bring in more members.  Don’t worry it is a legitimate service, I have received £80 from them for taking out another very competitive SIM contract from o2 a few years ago

 

Following this I thought I must be able to go further.  The website:  www.moneysavingexpert.com has a huge number of money saving tips.  I decided that I should spend my reading time looking through that site and picking up tips.  For several years now I have been living on bargains and cheap deals without really putting in the effort but I have still been able to live above my means just through the luck of finding good deals.  I decided that I would start using the websites in an effort to find even better deals.

 

I have just been on to the Tesco website and bought my shopping from there.  Naturally I am far from being the only person to do so.  Tesco has a thriving online business but how many people do not realise how easy it is to save money there.  I skimmed though all the multibuy offers and half price deals and built up an amount of shopping so huge that it would have taken me 6-8 hours of shopping to get as there is no way I could carry it all on the bus in one go.  All those bus fares were reduced to only £3 for delivery for the cheapest slot.  After I had done a Google search for Tesco coupons I found a code that reduced the already low figure I had to pay by £10 again.

 

Of course I can’t escape spending money as much as I would wish.  For this last week I have been traveling an hour later from work and saving £20 a month just from the lower off peak fare.  The method I have been using to ensure I reach the tube station late enough for this discounted rate is by saving more than £20 per month again by walking to the station.  All the same I would like to be back on my bicycle soon but unfortunately the British Heart Foundation ride has left me with a repair bill of well over £100 for the bike.  Naturally I have been seeking lower prices again to do the repairs.  The trick is to not simply accept that the place you go for cheap prices is the cheapest place.  Normally I always look on ebay for cheap prices but surprisingly a lot of the things on ebay are not actually all that cheap.  Wiggle has always been a favourite for finding cheap sports equipment in the past but I have discovered that some of the best prices available are on Chain Reaction Cycles.

 

I am actually enjoying the efforts I am putting into saving money.  Adding myself to a lot of mailing lists that many people would think of as being spam sites is actually proving to be quite helpful.  My efforts are probably quite amateur compared to many money savers out there but even before I started this I was saving huge amounts of money compared to the people whom I meet every day.  I am going to put effort into this because I think that saving money is far easier than people imagine.  I still wish to sell off a lot of my belongings simply because they are cluttering my home but I am not all that sure that I actually need to sell these things off.  Now that I am actually trying I am quite surprised by how much money I have managed to save in just the last week already.

.  At top cash back it is possible to get £100 cash back when you take out a contract with three.  So not only can I save money by taking out a new contract but I can also get paid to save money, thereby saving even more money.  The reason I have posted the link here is that as a member they will actually pay me to bring in more members.  Don’t worry it is a legitimate service, I have received £80 from them for taking out another very competitive SIM contract from o2 a few years ago

 

Following this I thought I must be able to go further.  The website:  www.moneysavingexpert.com has a huge number of money saving tips.  I decided that I should spend my reading time looking through that site and picking up tips.  For several years now I have been living on bargains and cheap deals without really putting in the effort but I have still been able to live above my means just through the luck of finding good deals.  I decided that I would start using the websites in an effort to find even better deals.

 

I have just been on to the Tesco website and bought my shopping from there.  Naturally I am far from being the only person to do so.  Tesco has a thriving online business but how many people do not realise how easy it is to save money there.  I skimmed though all the multibuy offers and half price deals and built up an amount of shopping so huge that it would have taken me 6-8 hours of shopping to get as there is no way I could carry it all on the bus in one go.  All those bus fares were reduced to only £3 for delivery for the cheapest slot.  After I had done a Google search for Tesco coupons I found a code that reduced the already low figure I had to pay by £10 again.

 

Of course I can’t escape spending money as much as I would wish.  For this last week I have been traveling an hour later from work and saving £20 a month just from the lower off peak fare.  The method I have been using to ensure I reach the tube station late enough for this discounted rate is by saving more than £20 per month again by walking to the station.  All the same I would like to be back on my bicycle soon but unfortunately the British Heart Foundation ride has left me with a repair bill of well over £100 for the bike.  Naturally I have been seeking lower prices again to do the repairs.  The trick is to not simply accept that the place you go for cheap prices is the cheapest place.  Normally I always look on ebay for cheap prices but surprisingly a lot of the things on ebay are not actually all that cheap.  Wiggle has always been a favourite for finding cheap sports equipment in the past but I have discovered that some of the best prices available are on Chain Reaction Cycles.

 

I am actually enjoying the efforts I am putting into saving money.  Adding myself to a lot of mailing lists that many people would think of as being spam sites is actually proving to be quite helpful.  My efforts are probably quite amateur compared to many money savers out there but even before I started this I was saving huge amounts of money compared to the people whom I meet every day.  I am going to put effort into this because I think that saving money is far easier than people imagine.  I still wish to sell off a lot of my belongings simply because they are cluttering my home but I am not all that sure that I actually need to sell these things off.  Now that I am actually trying I am quite surprised by how much money I have managed to save in just the last week already.

About harrymonmouth

Full of grace and fair regard, a true lover of the holy church. The courses of his youth promised it not but his body has become a paradise enveloping and containing celestial spirits. He has a sudden scholar become after reformation, in a flood, with heady currance scoured his faults and unseated his Hydra-headed wilfulness. Hear him but reason in divinity, and all-admiring with an inward wish you would desire he were made a prelate: Hear him debate of commonwealth affairs, You would say it hath been all in all his study: List his discourse of war, and you shall hear a fearful battle render'd you in music: Turn him to any cause of policy, the Gordian knot of it he will unloose, familiar as his garter: that, when he speaks, the air, a charter'd libertine, is still, and the mute wonder lurketh in men's ears, to steal his sweet and honey'd sentences; so that the art and practic part of life must be the mistress to this theoric: Which is a wonder how he should glean it, since his addiction was to courses vain, his companies unletter'd, rude and shallow, his hours fill'd up with riots, banquets, sports, and never noted in him any study, any retirement, any sequestration from open haunts and popularity.

Posted on September 29, 2012, in Economics, Management, Top tips, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Another thing I have really noticed is that for many people, below-average credit is the reaction of circumstances above their control. Such as they may have already been saddled by having an illness so they have higher bills going to collections. It can be due to a employment loss or the inability to do the job. Sometimes divorce or separation can truly send the money in the wrong direction. Many thanks for sharing your notions on this blog.

  2. Thanks to my father who shared with me about this weblog, this webpage is actually amazing.

  3. ” The president also mentions that he was in charge of two wars when he received the peace prize in the first place. One of the comments I’ve seen is that he was nominated before February 1 of this year. Receiving fifty-seven votes out of sixty, Hammarskj.

Leave a Reply

