Cholesterol

I happened to find myself logged in here today because I was making a comment on someone else’s blog so I thought I might splurge my mind a little.  This is of course probably shortening my life though.  I was ill recently and stopped going to the gym.  I stopped cycling and I generally got a lot less exercise for about 3 months.  At times I felt so bad that all I could do was lie in bed for the entire weekend not even having the strength to surf the net.

This is apparently really bad for your cholesterol levels.  It only takes about 2 months to really ruin the balance of cholesterol in your blood stream.  The idea I got from my Doctor is that they want the levels of good cholesterol (the one that moves away from your body and towards you liver) to be above 1.  I do not know what the one represents.  It seems from the net that different gauges are used across the world.  The bad cholesterol (the one that moves out from your liver and clogs up your blood stream) should ideally be below 5.  Mine however is almost 8.

Apparently with cholesterol that high I have a 1 in 5 chance of dropping dead with a heart attack in the next 10 years.  I might not even see my 50th birthday.  Admittedly the blood test was done at the peak of my illness, which appears to have been caused by food intolerances.  Now that I have changed my diet and also started taking vitamin D on doctors orders I feel far more lively so my cholesterol has probably been massively improving.

All the same the doc said that it was very unlikely such a high level was due to lifestyle and diet.  It could only be genetic.  This makes sense because I lost two grandfathers to conditions related to high cholesterol and they both went at an early age.  Also my diet is mainly fresh fruit, raw vegetables, oats and fish.  Sure I do eat some cholesterol heavy stuff but a lot less than most people who have no health problems do.

Anyway as it is probably genetic I decided that statins were a good idea.  He told me that I might wait a month or two and see if lifestyle changes helped but really considering my diet is already quite healthy I would effectively have to do so much exercise to have an effect on such a high cholesterol level that I would probably need to give up my job in order to fit it in.  So I am now on statins, I have altered my diet a little, I couldn’t change it much because there was not a lot of leeway there, especially with the recently discovered food intolerances.

Mostly I have decided to get more exercise though.  I have now moved house.  I now live just outside London rather than far within the ring road.  I have escaped into the countryside.  Only just.  I am probably as close to London as it is possible to be whilst also considering yourself to live in the countryside.  I am now planning to get into a bit of hiking.  The doctor has recommended walking as a good form of exercise.  I would like to cycle but I am not hugely comfortable with British roads, they tend to be too narrow and busy.  I have therefore bought myself a good pair of web tex pro xt II military hiking boots.  Unfortunately I need size 11 on my right foot and size 12 on my left foot.  You want  a good fit with hiking boots.  So if anyone out there has a size 11 left foot and a size 12 right foot then get in touch I might be able to save you the bother of buying two pairs of boots yourself.

About harrymonmouth

Full of grace and fair regard, a true lover of the holy church. The courses of his youth promised it not but his body has become a paradise enveloping and containing celestial spirits. He has a sudden scholar become after reformation, in a flood, with heady currance scoured his faults and unseated his Hydra-headed wilfulness. Hear him but reason in divinity, and all-admiring with an inward wish you would desire he were made a prelate: Hear him debate of commonwealth affairs, You would say it hath been all in all his study: List his discourse of war, and you shall hear a fearful battle render'd you in music: Turn him to any cause of policy, the Gordian knot of it he will unloose, familiar as his garter: that, when he speaks, the air, a charter'd libertine, is still, and the mute wonder lurketh in men's ears, to steal his sweet and honey'd sentences; so that the art and practic part of life must be the mistress to this theoric: Which is a wonder how he should glean it, since his addiction was to courses vain, his companies unletter'd, rude and shallow, his hours fill'd up with riots, banquets, sports, and never noted in him any study, any retirement, any sequestration from open haunts and popularity.

Posted on February 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

