Ereader for me.

I have decided to get myself a kindle.  I was deep in thought for about 4 months over what type of ereader I should try and get.  The Sonys look real sweet, nice big screens.  Most of the smaller makes passed below the radar, and a lot of others are really only of use in the States, or so it appears.  The kindle won out in the end because of its worldwide 3g coverage combined with the reason I am eventually taking the plunge.

Work have told me that I am going to India for a month or so in January.  As a little celebration I decided that was the excuse I needed to buy a kindle.  The 3g coverage, or in India EDGE apparently, would be just the think to help me avoid hideous roaming bills when I am abroad and ensure I can still read a daily newspaper, something I could only dream of when I lived abroad as recently as 9 years ago.

As always I decided to get it on ebay.  The problem with getting a new kindle is they are all the same price everywhere.  How can I enjoy the hunt when I can get the exact same animal right outside my cave as I could if I trekked through jungles and across plains for three days.  Ebay keeps the hunt alive.  I started searching allowing myself a budget of £120 including the postage.  Those of you who have tried to buy a kindle 3g on ebay will consider this to be optimistic, but if you search the sold listings you will discover that a couple do sell at that price every week.

After seeing a lot of possibles shoot past my price range up to the high 120s and 130s I logged in on Friday and clicked on the buy it now new listings and there right at the top was a kindle 3g for £120 and the postage was a penny.  I snapped it up instantly.  It is always a good idea to check all the buy it nows because in a frenzied bidding battle things often go for much higher prices than you would expect because as soon as a person places their first bid they are emotionally invested and will go all the way.   With a buy it now, all you have to do is recognise its value before anyone else does.

Anyway my kindle should be on its way to my work place by tomorrow.  I was a little bit worried that he meant 3rd generation when he said 3g but he assures me it is in fact a 3g capable kindle.  Unfortunately I came down with a nasty illness, yet to be formally diagnosed on Tuesday, that prevents me going to work.  So all this time I am holed up in my house recovering, when a kindle would be very handy, it is going to be four miles away in my place of work where I am not allowed to go.  Oh well, it will be something to motivate me out of the house when I have made a recovery.

About harrymonmouth

Full of grace and fair regard, a true lover of the holy church. The courses of his youth promised it not but his body has become a paradise enveloping and containing celestial spirits. He has a sudden scholar become after reformation, in a flood, with heady currance scoured his faults and unseated his Hydra-headed wilfulness. Hear him but reason in divinity, and all-admiring with an inward wish you would desire he were made a prelate: Hear him debate of commonwealth affairs, You would say it hath been all in all his study: List his discourse of war, and you shall hear a fearful battle render'd you in music: Turn him to any cause of policy, the Gordian knot of it he will unloose, familiar as his garter: that, when he speaks, the air, a charter'd libertine, is still, and the mute wonder lurketh in men's ears, to steal his sweet and honey'd sentences; so that the art and practic part of life must be the mistress to this theoric: Which is a wonder how he should glean it, since his addiction was to courses vain, his companies unletter'd, rude and shallow, his hours fill'd up with riots, banquets, sports, and never noted in him any study, any retirement, any sequestration from open haunts and popularity.

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

